10 Candidate Countries to Win the 2023 Women’s World Cup

10 Candidate Countries to Win the 2023 Women's World Cup

10 Candidate Countries to Win the 2023 Women’s World Cup

ebanmella.com – The 2023 Women’s World Cup will be held in Australia and New Zealand from July 20 to August 20. Which country will emerge as the champion?

Read More

Historically, the 2023 World Cup is the strongest of the United States Women’s National Team, considering they have won the title four times in eight editions.

However, the competition for the 2023 Women’s World Cup will be tougher considering that FIFA has made a new change by increasing the number of participating teams from the previous 24 to 32 teams.

Now, the US women’s national team doesn’t just have competition from traditional teams like Germany, Japan and Brazil. A number of first teams such as Vietnam, Philippines, Republic of Ireland and Portugal also have the potential to be competitive.

To find out more about which teams or countries have a chance to become champions, we have listed below the top 10 nations that are favorites to win the 2023 Women’s World Cup.

Read More : The Richest Football Players in the World, Who Are They?

5. England

The England women’s national team qualified for the 2023 World Cup after winning the Women’s Euro 2022 last summer. England beat Germany 2-1 (1-1) in extra time to beat favourites.

But the composition of the squad in Australia and New Zealand will be vastly different from when they won Euro 2022. Euro 2022 top scorer Baz Mead will be absent due to an ACL injury. Along with Leah Williamson (ACL), Fran Kirby (knee injury) and Ellen White decided to retire. This means coach Sarine Wigman will not be able to rely on the four players who are his main choice when England win Euro 2022.

However, the England Women’s National Team is believed to be one of the favorites for the 2023 World Cup as they still have plenty of quality players. One of them, Arsenal women’s striker Alessia Russo, is scoring four goals in the Women’s Euro 2022.

4. Swedenn

Sweden is one of the traditional powerhouses of women’s international football and has consistently performed well in competitions, reaching the semi-finals or better in each of the finals at the World Cup, European Championships and Olympics.

Sweden has also played in the Women’s World Cup final (2003) and finished third on three separate occasions (1991, 2011 and 2019). However, after the 1984 Euro tournament, they failed to emerge as champions.

The 2023 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand has been said to be “now or never” for players currently in the national team. The reason is that their average age is in their late 20s or early 30s, making it difficult for Sweden to shine at the next Women’s World Cup.

Yes, Sweden’s star players such as team captain Caroline Seger (38 years old) as well as attacking duo Kosovare Aslani and Sofia Jakobsson, both 33 years old, are predicted to struggle to show their best performance in the next few years. So it is the right time for Sweden to record achievements.

3. Australia

Read More : 20 Best Clubs in the World Right Now

The Australian women’s national team is among the favorites to win, partly because of their status as hosts. Of course, they get a lot of support from their fans.

However, that’s not the only reason Australia are favorites to win. Overall, Australia’s performance on the world stage is also very convincing. Australia has successfully reached the quarter-finals of the Women’s World Cup for four consecutive editions (2003, 2007, 2011 and 2015). And they recently became the fourth champion at the 2020 Japan Olympics.

Australia also has world-class players in forward Sam Kerr (Chelsea), full-back Ellie Carpenter (Olympics Lyon) and winger Caitlin Foord.

2. Germany

The German women’s national team is the ruler of women’s football in Europe. In the year They won six Euro titles between 1995 and 2013, not including their two consecutive Women’s World Cup triumphs in 2003 and 2007.

Germany seems to have no shortage of female soccer talent. After the era of Birgit Prinz and Dzsenifer Marozsan, who decided to retire last March at the age of 31, Germany still have plenty of players to rely on.

At the 2023 Women’s World Cup, veteran player Alexandra Pope (32) has scored 30 goals in 46 games, helping young star Leah Schuler (25). Apart from this, the presence of Lina Oberdorf (21) and Juul Brand (20) in the main team is a guarantee of continuous renewal in the German team.

With a balanced lineup, Germany under coach Martina Voss-Tecklenberg will be looking to get closer to the US to win the Women’s World Cup.

Read More : Manchester United’s best player of all time

1. United States

The United States Women’s National Team will be the team to win the 2023 Women’s World Cup after winning the last two editions and being ranked number one in the FIFA World Rankings. Alex Morgan and others scored a championship hat-trick.

The United States Women’s National Team deserves to be the top favorite for the 2023 World Cup as it is still bolstered by experienced players like Kelly O’Hara (age 34), Megan Rapinoe (age 38) and forward Alex Morgan (). 34) again performed well and finished second in the vote for the 2022 FIFA Women’s Player of the Year (lost to Alexia Putlas/Spain).

For both O’Hara, Rapion and Morgan, the 2023 World Cup will be their last stage. Therefore, it is believed that they will use all their capabilities and close their international business with a bang.

In addition to experienced players, the American team this time features many new talents such as Sophia Smith (22 years old), Trinity Rodman (21 years old) and Alyssa Thompson who is only 18 years old and ready to work. She was the first and showed her quality.

The United States Women’s National Team is headed to the 2023 World Cup as it has won 21 of its last 24 games. Including teams that could stumble into the 2023 Women’s World Cup, such as Canada (2-0), Japan (1-0) and Brazil (2-1).

Can the United States Women’s National Team win a hat trick and win a fifth title at the Women’s World Cup? Or is there really a new champion at the 2023 Women’s World Cup? Let’s wait.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *